I play at a local bridge club and was playing against the director when he did something that I think may have been against the rules.
He opened with 1NT, his partner bid 2 Diamonds, I asked if that was transfers at which the opener responded. "Thank god you asked that as I have bid incorrectly", he looked at his partner and then said to him "You, know what ive done partner dont you?" , "i've done it again" He proceeded to lay his next bid (should have been 2 hearts in response to the transfer request from his partner) instead he bid 3 spades and told his partner to imagine his 1nt opening bid was 1 Spade.
My partner and I were astounded at this discussion of hands during the bidding, I said half in jest, "we should call the director" ...he then said "I am the director, stupid" Now...what I want to know is...was this a rule break? and what should the outcome have been?
Later in the same evening, we overheard a heated debate between the director and another player about the oponent biding 2nt in reply to his partner, with 15+ points in his hand rather than 11/12...I was fuming as surely if you are going to complain about people bidding incorrectly you should do the same yourself and set an example as bridge director, not use it as a perk to get away with things you, yourself do wrong.
Just needed to get this off my chest and ask for views.