News & Views
The news and views section has recently been updated to take advantage new security measures. Unfortunately, it has not been possible to retain members' passwords - all other information in members' accounts has been retained (including usernames, email address etc). Please click on 'Forgotten' on the login page to reset your password. We apologise for the inconvenience.
Hello. Here’s what happened today - I was the dealer with SKQ, Hxxx, DAQXx, CAQJx. I opened 1 C followed by pass, pass, 1D. Then I doubled thinking I was asking my partner to show me her best suit. I was told off and offered various suggestions depending on my points. The advice was that correct bid for a good hand was 1NT and so I bid 1NT which was followed by 3 passes. On a H lead I went down.
So, was my double an acceptable bid within the rules of the game or not? What should my bid have been if any?