Mr Bridge
card fan

mrbridge.co.uk

for BRIDGE Magazine, holidays and much more

Welcome to our Community!

If you want to take part in the discussions, sign in or apply for membership below.

Declarer changing their mind on card to be played

edited 7:19AM in Bridge Laws

Hi

Can you please clarify the rules on the following:

Declarer called for a lead card from dummy - 4 H - which dummy picked up and moved. Declarer then said "oh no I wish to change it to K D" - can they do this or should the original card be played? It would have had an impact on the result!



Comments

  • edited 7:19AM
    Law 45C3 says a card in the dummy must be played if it has been deliberately touched by declarer
    Law 45C4A says A card must be played if a player names or otherwise designates it as the card he proposes to play.

    In short no he may not change his mind. He can change an unintended designation if he does it without thought. Spade, I mean top spade would count I think. Let a director decide how to apply the law in such situations and they should have the law book with them when they come to the table.
Sign In or Register to comment.