Mr Bridge
card fan

mrbridge.co.uk

for BRIDGE Magazine, holidays and much more

Welcome to our Community!

If you want to take part in the discussions, sign in or apply for membership below.

doubles - penalty or takeout?

edited April 2013 in Anything Else
At the 2 level when someone doubles, I understand it to be a takeout unless alerted before 3 NT level to be something else. Is that so, or can a pair make it a penalty double without alerting it, even if they have not filled in a card saying what they play? I have asked two experienced players and each gave me a different answer - one adamant that it was ACOL standard play to alert if not a takeout double, and the other saying that if that's what they play then that's what they play. Incidentally, I asked just before play of game started so when I found out it was a penalty double and not a take out double, I felt somewhat done out of a possible further bid.

Comments

  • edited 8:44PM
    It sounds as if your opponents misunderstood your question and were trying to explain standard methods.

    Under EBU regulations, below the level of 3NT you alert if your double of a naturally bid suit is not takeout.
Sign In or Register to comment.