Mr Bridge
card fan

mrbridge.co.uk

for BRIDGE Magazine, holidays and much more

Welcome to our Community!

If you want to take part in the discussions, sign in or apply for membership below.

Declarer instantly changes mind

edited December 2011 in Bridge Laws
LHO to declarer leads after winning last trick, dummy cannot overtake, RHO plays high and declarer pulls out wrong card and immediately states sorry wrong card and takes it back (without pause for thought) to play winner - is this allowed?

Comments

  • RMBRMB
    edited 9:07PM
    Once declarer has played a card (technically, when it get to the point where the laws say he "must play a card") he can not change it, before that point he can change his mind. Declarer must play a card if it is held face up, touching or nearly touching the table; or if it is maintained in such a position as to indicate that it has been played. If declarer "pulls out" the wrong card, he can take it back if it did not get close to touching the table.
Sign In or Register to comment.